denisegutshall

A site to share artwork and ideas

OCC Stretching Your Dies Day 3: Shape Dies

on March 23, 2015

Denise G.

My shape is the Tag Die Cut.  I prepared this card by :

1.  Cutting out the Tag Die from 5.5 x 4.25″ card stock

2. Stamping the background on the card with a rubber stamp.  Coloring the background with yellow Copic markers.

3.  Stamping the tag, adding a ribbon and die cut embellishment.

4.  Stamp the card front with the honeycomb pattern so it is observed from the back of the tag.   Attach the tag to the printed sheet.

Dies:  Sizzix (tag),  Taylored Expression Curly

Stamps:  Hero Arts Outline Daisy, Invoke Bees (cling)

Copic Markers:  Y13, Y15, misc others for the beekeeper

P1010353 (800x742)

I have to say this card was much more difficult than I expected.  I started out with two beautiful water colors and lost them both.  I don’t have any masking paper so I tried using Eclipse Masking tape but it was too strong and too off the inks.  I then tried to create my own mask with a Hermafix tape on paper — I tried to remove as much adhesive as possible and this seem to work but I messed up the back end.  So I created a third watercolor (which wasn’t as nice as the first two) and things worked OK until I tried to remove the homemade masking paper.  Took of some color.  I touched up some with a paintbrush and did a 4th watercolor to replace a few die cuts.  I am not sure I would do this again.

Dies:  MFT Upsey Daises, Fringed Perennials, WPlus9 Spring Blossoms, Sizzix Tattered Flowers,  PTI Phrase Play 3 (Hello), SSS (sunshine),  Spellbinders (Circle).

Sentiments were cut out three times and glued together.  They were topped with Glossy Accents.

Paper:  Canson Watercolor paper, PTI White Linen Cardstock

Distress Inks:  Shabby Shutters, Peeled Paint, persimmon, mustard seed, picked raspberry, peacock

Leave a Reply

