denisegutshall

A site to share artwork and ideas

Simon Says Stamps Wednesday Challenge

on September 14, 2014

P1010037 (332x450)

This posting is for the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge using a Simon Says Stamp or Simon Says exclusive product.  For this entry I played around with the new Art Deco Tree and Merry Christmas dies.  Above is my final product.

For the background:  I used the Chevron cover plate from Taylor Expressions to make a stencil  (see the stencil below).  I inked the background with Memento Gray Flannel, SSS Fog Gray, PTI aqua mist, PTI Ocean tides and PTI Tropical Teal.  I sprayed the background with a homemade perfect pearls.

For the  merry christmas:  Die cut was colored with PTI Ocean Tide  and wink of stella liberally applied.

The Tree Die:  The first thing I did was cut the die out and emboss in Rangers Liquid platinum.

P1010025 (324x450)

While I liked this look a lot, I tried overlaying it with a white tree, a border cut from the negative image and finally the blue green tree above.  The background was attached to white cardstock and trimmed with a strip of glitter paper and a glitter star (SSS die).

P1010026 (328x450) P1010027 (303x450)

In addition, I used the stencil I created as a  part of a background :

P1010030 (357x450)

I stamped the background with the new Hero Arts background stamp in SSS Fog Gray.  I covered it with the “stencil”.  I attached a Simon Says Apothecary label die cut.  The stamp is from the Apothcary set but I added for happy holidays (for is from SSS Thanks dies, Happy Holidays from a Hero Arts set).  Embossed with Judikins Malachite.  I added snowflake die cuts from Quickutz and added gems from KI.

2 responses to “Simon Says Stamps Wednesday Challenge

  1. rica369 says:

    A gorgeous card Denise, a fabulous design and colour combo – I love the variations, especially the first and fourth!!

    Thanks so much for joining Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
    hugs
    Heather xx

    Like

  2. caryndavies says:

    Awesome cards Denise – you’re well on your way with your Christmas cards!!

    Thanks joining us at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.
    Hugs,
    Caryn xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

